Pinterest Put-To-Rest: Homemade Seed Pots & Greenhouse

Does anybody remember Winter?  The Honyuk and I sat on our porch and pondered this question.  Fall? Yup… we had that.   Rainy Spring like weather?  Yup… that was winter.  And now here we are mid March enjoying 70 degree days…  so has Summer really begun?

With that we decided it was time to get a jump on our garden.  With the success of 2011’s garden and notes of what worked and what didn’t, I stocked up on a supply of seeds.  I went to my trusty store that I went to last year… The Dollar Store.  Yup!  That’s right… 4 for a $1.00 seed packets from the American Seed Company.  Last year I was skeptical so I planted a ton of seeds thinking 1 in 5 would probably work, but in the end we couldn’t give away all of our tomato plants because we had so many.

So this year I will be just as conservative and plant a ton again.

Dollar Store Seeds

Dollar Store Seeds

Pinterest Pin

Pinterest Pin... Click to go to link

With seeds in hand it was time to try out a Pinterest idea I stumbled upon last Fall… homemade seed pots.  I love biodegradable seed pots and have been using them for many years now.  Combine that with the fact I’m are recycling paper and I was determined to use this idea.  All in all it only took me about 30 minutes to make 40 seed pots.  In the end we will have a total of 80.  Sounds crazy right?  We like to give some away to our family and friends.  My only concern is whether the newspaper will hold up long enough, from watering, for the seeds to germinate and be transplanted.  I’m a big fan of “some is good, more is better” so I guess this will be a good lesson in water portion control.

Newspaper Seed Pots

Newspaper Seed Pots

Pinterest Pin

Pinterest Pin... Click to go to link

I also stumbled upon a pin that uses clear totes as greenhouses.  I love this idea since we’ve always used plastic containers, baking tins, and other assorted items to grow all our seedlings.  Also, our previous greenhouse grow room is being occupied by our son so it’s time to move the grow operation to the sunroom.  You might be wondering why haven’t we done this before?  Well, because we have two lovely cats that like to nibble things.  Hopefully these totes will not only be excellent greenhouses, but also offer protection from my feline friends.

So here is to the Garden of 2012… Grow Baby! Grow!

This entry was posted in Crafting, Pinterest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment